Legal Protection Following a DWI Charge
Aug. 3, 2020
After being stopped or arrested on suspicion of DWI, many people have concerns about what it might mean for their future. At Davis-Jones Law, we understand that good people sometimes find themselves in bad situations. We strive to provide knowledgeable, client-focused legal representation, so your criminal charge does not ruin your life.
Will I Go To Jail For A DWI?
The consequences of DWI charges in Texas can vary, but drunk driving is typically taken very seriously by the state's lawmakers, prosecutors and courts. In some cases, a conviction for drunk driving may result in prison time. A first offense carries a minimum sentence of three days in jail, a second offense carries a minimum of 30 days and a third offense has a minimum sentence of two years. If you are stopped with a child in the car, even the first offense is a felony punishable by up to two years in state jail.
Will I Lose My License After A DWI?
In Texas, the Department of Public Safety will suspend your license upon a DWI arrest unless you request a hearing and win. You only have 15 days after your arrest to request a hearing, so it is critical to get in touch with an attorney immediately after you are released from jail.
Will I Lose My Job?
If you are convicted of DWI, the resulting criminal record can make it difficult to keep or secure the employment that you want. If your job involves working with children or driving a company vehicle, it may be impossible. Many employers have policies against hiring anyone with a criminal record, even if the job has nothing to do with driving.
Get Your Questions Answered — Contact Davis-Jones Law, P.C.
To speak with a proven criminal defense lawyer with extensive experience in DWI and related matters, please contact Davis-Jones Law in Austin. Attorney Kris Davis-Jones can address your concerns and help you begin protecting your rights.